Our system detected that your browser is blocking advertisements on our site. Please help support FoxesTalk by disabling any kind of ad blocker while browsing this site. Thank you.
The People's Hero

Final Fantasy

Evenin'

I suspect there are threads on this; but I don't like the search function and this is more about the whole franchise.

I've been playing a bit of FFXIV recently; I actually restarted about 2 months ago from the beginning as wanted to enjoy the lore etc; not just rush through. Taking my time and indulging myself with some gathering and crafting etc; just essentially using it to relax and pass time during my isolation now; whilst up until this week its just been there for a mission here and there; maybe 2 hours a week. I'm not a prolific players. Not hardcore.

Got me thinking a bit about the whole series. I do like to party up but I run most of the stuff solo and can still enjoy myself. I probably do enjoy the party stuff more; but struggle to find like-minded who aren't just there to finish it in 3 minutes to grind for XP; I'm there to enjoy and relax. Anyway that's only relevant as I want to talk single player here.

I remember FF7 coming out; as will many of you. I didn't have a PS1 at the time so never got involved but I was aware what a big thing it was. I've generally missed ALL the single player games.

I got FFX on the PS2 when I was a student and absolutely ordered that. Never did FFX-2 (think people said it was crap); FFXI was an MMO (?), did do FF12 in a fairly major way back in the day (loooooooooooong delay on ps2) and have gone back to zodiac age. Lost interest at EXACTLY the same point both times I think. 

I now have both FFXV and the remake of FFVII. Are either of these any good?

Also; my son is 8 and keeps asking me about playing them; in your opinion where is the best place to start him off?