Our system detected that your browser is blocking advertisements on our site. Please help support FoxesTalk by disabling any kind of ad blocker while browsing this site. Thank you.
Rain King

Second Hand Cars

My useless Renault Megane has now pretty much given in on me and I am in the market for a new vehicle. That being my first car I have little knowledge of other cars.

I have approximately £4500 to spend so I'm aware I'm not going to get top of the range but does anyone have any recommendations?

Reliability and family friendly (2 kids) are the two main points I am looking for.

Also anyone recommend anywhere in Leicester/Leicestershire to go to?

There are dozens of good options.

Ford Focus is your safest bet - lots about, relatively reliable, cheap and ubiquitous parts, good to drive, big boot etc.

If you're not doing mega miles, get a petrol one. The diesels are very good, but you will find that examples in your price range will have reached the age where EGR valves, dual mass flywheels and injectors might be starting to show their age.

Might be worth a trip to Available Car in Castle Donington. They have about 800 cars which are all left open and no salesmen hassle you.

Simply go there, have a sit in some cars and decide what you like but don't buy it from there (because, despite what they say, you'll get one much cheaper elsewhere). Then go home and search for that car on Auto Trader.

The problem with car advice is every make has sold a lemon to someone so you'll always get the advice of 'don't buy one of them'

As Bornblue says go to a big provider and sit in few to at least find out which ones actually meet your needs.

My daughter's just bought one from Motorpoint in Derby and seemed very pleased with them.

DJ Whyman on Aylestone Road is a reasonable dealer, bit pricey though. I got a Focus for £3000 from there 5 years ago, and it has served me well since. Might be worth a visit if you're around that area.