Our system detected that your browser is blocking advertisements on our site. Please help support FoxesTalk by disabling any kind of ad blocker while browsing this site. Thank you.
Spudulike

Best music streaming service ??

Just bought myself a wireless speaker (Naim Mu-So QB) and looking for recommendations for a streaming service.

Spotify ?? Deezer ?? Amazon ?? Google Play ?? Tidal ?? Any others ??

£9.99 per month seems to be the going rate but £19.99 for lossless (Deezer, Tidal) but don't want to pay that much.

Anyone got any experience of using these services ??

Cheers.

41 minutes ago, Samilktray said:

I use Spotify which makes me feel a bit of a scumbag but it's pound for pound the best out there I think. I'm also a dickhead to myself as I pay for Tidal just to have Jay-Zs albums 

Why does Spotify make you a scumbag ?? I'm new to this previously being a vinyl and CD dinosaur. HiFi separates now in the loft :mellow:

Tidal is expensive but offers the best sound (so they reckon).

Think that I'll sign up to a Spotify trial and see how I go.

Spotify for me.

But looking at the ethical side of things, it appears Apple pays the artists (or  whoever owns the right to royalties) the most. Almost double what Spotify pays, according to this article https://mixmag.net/read/new-data-reveals-which-streaming-platform-pays-artists-the-most-in-royalties-news

Though I wonder how accurate that is as A) Apple doesn't have a great reputation when it comes to negotiating with its suppliers and partners B) if the dollar amounts are correct they might have different payout thresholds. I.e. Apple pays more per 1000 plays, but only pays out after every 1m plays vs Spotify at 100k plays. 

Lossless formats are really pointless unless you've got yourself a banging set of speakers, expensive headphones or you're a proper audiophile. 9/10 people wouldn't be able to tell the difference, I guarantee it.