Our system detected that your browser is blocking advertisements on our site. Please help support FoxesTalk by disabling any kind of ad blocker while browsing this site. Thank you.
RumbleFox

Rumble's Slightly Positive Expected Goals Ramble

Hi all

If this is better in another section of the forum or has been mentioned elsewhere then please move/merge.

First of all, two caveats:

1 - I am by no means an expert on stats or on betting so input very welcome and I may have completely misunderstood the whole concept so happy to be corrected.

2- I am by no means using any of these stats as any kind of “proof” we will do well or trying to be too positive I just thought they were interesting.

So…….. I have just been looking at “Expected Goal” (XG) stats for the first 4 games of the season.

In terms of XG Leicester are currently sitting in 8th position whilst our “Expected Goals Against” (XGA) sees us in 17th.  Basically, we have scored slightly fewer goals than “expected” based on goal scoring opportunities encountered and, if we scored all of our “expected goals” we would have scored the 8th most in the league.

Conversely, we have conceded slightly more goals than “expected".  If we had let in as many goals as “expected” our goals against would be 17th in the league.

Now these stats need to be taken with a huge pinch of salt and it is hard to attach “meaning” to them as we could have lower goals scored than expected because we have been unlucky, because our strikers are shite, because opponent goalies play a blinder, etc, etc.  There are far too many variables but at least we are creating viable goal scoring chances (indeed the 8th most in the league so far) although we seem to be giving them away at the other end?

Anyway, I cannot explain it much better as I am a fvcking dullard simpleton so what am I trying to say?!?!